CareerFunded Find training near you

Home / Culinary Programs / California

Culinary Programs in California

Colleges and schools: 55

Programs
62
all sources
Median pay
$64,500
chefs and head cooks, BLS May 2025; U.S. $62,470
Middle program cost
$5,350
7 programs report one, DOL WIOA list and IPEDS
On the WIOA list
50
Culinary programs, U.S. DOL file

Culinary Programs in California: the figures

Programs we list
62 in California: 55 at colleges and schools, 7 training providers known only from the WIOA list.
Colleges and schools
52 public and 3 private; 1,743 culinary completions in 2023-24 at the 50 that reported any (IPEDS).
Listed program cost
Middle $5,350 in California, from $1,925 to $48,027, across 7 programs that report one (DOL WIOA list and IPEDS).
Median pay
$64,500 a year for chefs and head cooks in California, against $62,470 for the U.S. (BLS OEWS, May 2025).
WIOA training funds
WIOA in California: 4,171 programs from 741 providers on the state's list in the U.S. DOL file, 50 of them culinary.
WIOA results
50 culinary programs on California's list; middle values: 89.5% of students who exited completed (24 programs report it); 81.6% were employed in the second quarter after exit (18); $8,830 median earnings in that quarter (13) (U.S. DOL file).
Metro areas
5 California metro areas have a page; the largest list, Los Angeles, has 20 programs.

By metro area

Every culinary program in California

ProgramWhereType Program costLengthCompletions
05244 - Culinary Apprenticeship Program for Under served PopWIOA list Sacramento WIOA list only Not reported Not reported
Allan Hancock College Santa Maria Certificate Not reported Not reported 22
American River College Sacramento Certificate Not reported Not reported 14
Bakersfield College Bakersfield Certificate Not reported Not reported 18
Cabrillo CollegeWIOA list Aptos Certificate Not reported Not reported 45
Cerritos CollegeWIOA list Norwalk Certificate Not reported Not reported 51
CET-San Jose San Jose Certificate Not reported Not reported 12
Chaffey College Rancho Cucamonga Certificate Not reported Not reported 22
City College of San FranciscoWIOA list San Francisco Certificate Not reported Not reported 19
College of the Canyons Santa Clarita Certificate Not reported Not reported 41
College of the Desert Palm Desert Certificate Not reported Not reported 34
College of the Sequoias Visalia Certificate Not reported Not reported 37
Columbia College Sonora Certificate Not reported Not reported 32
Contra Costa CollegeWIOA list San Pablo Certificate Not reported Not reported 7
Copper Mountain Community College Joshua Tree Certificate Not reported Not reported 0
Cosumnes River College Sacramento Associate Not reported Not reported 0
Cuesta CollegeWIOA list San Luis Obispo Certificate Not reported Not reported 45
Cypress College Cypress Certificate Not reported Not reported 39
Diablo Valley CollegeWIOA list Pleasant Hill Certificate Not reported Not reported 26
Feather River Community College District Quincy Associate Not reported Not reported 0
Fresno City CollegeWIOA list Fresno Certificate Not reported Not reported 6
Glendale Community College Glendale Certificate Not reported Not reported 0
Grossmont College El Cajon Certificate Not reported Not reported 71
Hacienda La Puente Adult EducationWIOA list La Puente Certificate Not reported Not reported 21
Hospitality Training Academy (HTA) JATCWIOA list Los Angeles WIOA list only $5,350 Not reported
Institute of Culinary Education Pasadena Certificate $48,027 15 months 229
Lake Tahoe Community College South Lake Tahoe Certificate Not reported Not reported 13
Laney CollegeWIOA list Oakland Certificate Not reported Not reported 35
Lemoore CollegeWIOA list Lemoore Certificate Not reported Not reported 13
Long Beach City College Long Beach Certificate Not reported Not reported 51
Los Angeles Harbor College Wilmington Certificate Not reported Not reported 66
Los Angeles Mission College Sylmar Certificate Not reported Not reported 128
Los Angeles Trade Technical CollegeWIOA list Los Angeles Certificate Not reported Not reported 137
Maxine Waters Employment Prep Center - LAUSDWIOA list Los Angeles WIOA list only $1,960 Not reported
Mendocino College Ukiah Associate Not reported Not reported 2
Merced College Merced Certificate Not reported Not reported 3
Merced County Office of EducationWIOA list Merced WIOA list only Not reported Not reported
Mission College Santa Clara Certificate Not reported Not reported 5
Modesto Junior College Modesto Associate Not reported Not reported 0
Monterey Peninsula College Monterey Certificate Not reported Not reported 4
Mt San Antonio College Walnut Certificate Not reported Not reported 26
Mt San Jacinto Community College District San Jacinto Certificate Not reported Not reported 9
Napa Valley CollegeWIOA list Napa Certificate Not reported Not reported 5
National Holistic Institute Emeryville Certificate $17,750 12 months 26
Orange Coast College Costa Mesa Certificate Not reported Not reported 83
Oxnard College Oxnard Certificate Not reported Not reported 15
Pasadena City College Pasadena Certificate Not reported Not reported 9
Richard N. Slawson Occupational Center - LAUSDWIOA list Los Angeles WIOA list only $1,925 Not reported
Riverside City College Riverside Certificate Not reported Not reported 87
Saddleback CollegeWIOA list Mission Viejo Certificate Not reported Not reported 31
San Bernardino Valley College San Bernardino Certificate Not reported Not reported 16
San Diego Mesa College San Diego Certificate Not reported Not reported 14
San Joaquin Delta College Stockton Certificate Not reported Not reported 21
Santa Ana College Santa Ana Certificate Not reported Not reported 21
Santa Barbara City College Santa Barbara Certificate Not reported Not reported 12
Santa Rosa Junior College Santa Rosa Certificate Not reported Not reported 52
Shasta College Redding Certificate Not reported Not reported 12
Southwestern College Chula Vista Certificate Not reported Not reported 35
Sushi Chef InstituteWIOA list Torrance WIOA list only $4,900 Not reported
United Youth of America, IncWIOA list Los Angeles WIOA list only $10,050 Not reported
Woodland Community CollegeWIOA list Woodland Certificate Not reported Not reported 18
Yuba College Marysville Certificate Not reported Not reported 3
Find training near you Who pays