Home / Medical Assistant Programs / Texas / Houston area
Medical Assistant Programs in the Houston area
Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX metro area
Programs
15
4 within 10 miles
Median pay here
$42,110
medical assistants, BLS May 2025
Lowest listed cost
$10,700
of 8 with a cost, IPEDS
Medical Assistant Programs in the Houston area at a glance
- Open to the public
- 15 programs: 15 at colleges and schools (IPEDS)
- Distance from Houston
- 4 within 10 miles; nearest 1.1 miles, farthest 45.6 miles
- Listed program cost
- 8 of 15 list one: $10,700 to $18,400, middle $17,285 (IPEDS)
- Program length
- 8 colleges list a length: 8 months to 9 months (IPEDS)
- Completions, 2023-24
- 2,141 medical assistant awards at the 15 colleges that reported any (IPEDS)
- On the WIOA list
- 2 of 15 on Texas's eligible training list (DOL file, June 30, 2025)
- Pay here
- $42,110 median for medical assistants ($20.25 an hour); 10th to 90th percentile $30,910 to $49,360; 18,280 employed in the metro area; Texas median $39,520 (BLS OEWS, May 2025)
Medical assistant programs, nearest to Houston first
| Program | Where | Type | Program cost | Length | Completions | Miles |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Houston Community CollegeWIOA list | Houston | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 92 | 1.1 |
| College of Health Care Professions | Houston | Certificate | $18,400 | 9 months | 273 | 5.3 |
| Northwest Educational Center | Houston | Certificate | $10,700 | 8 months | 37 | 8.6 |
| The College of Health Care Professions-Southwest Houston | Houston | Certificate | $18,400 | 9 months | 256 | 9.6 |
| The College of Health Care Professions-NorthwestWIOA list | Houston | Certificate | $18,400 | 9 months | 847 | 10.2 |
| Texas Health School | Houston | Certificate | $17,285 | 8 months | 20 | 13.9 |
| Pima Medical Institute-Houston | Houston | Certificate | $16,415 | 9 months | 261 | 14.0 |
| Fortis Institute | Houston | Certificate | $16,669 | 9 months | 93 | 14.1 |
| Remington College-North Houston Campus | Houston | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 39 | 15.1 |
| San Jacinto Community College | Pasadena | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 77 | 15.7 |
| Fortis College | Houston | Certificate | $16,669 | 9 months | 66 | 17.2 |
| Remington College-Houston Southeast Campus | League City | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 20 | 21.8 |
| College of the Mainland | Texas City | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 22 | 32.0 |
| Lone Star College System | The Woodlands | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 33 | 32.1 |
| Galveston College | Galveston | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 5 | 45.6 |
- College programs, cost and completions: IPEDS complete data files, 2024-25 collection, read October 8, 2026.
- WIOA list: DOL TrainingProviderResults.gov program file (ETA-9171), read October 8, 2026.
- Pay: BLS OEWS, May 2025, Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX, read October 8, 2026.
Paying for training
- WIOA in Texas: 5,743 programs are on the state's list in the U.S. DOL file, 147 of them Medical assistant.
- Pell Grants for short programs
- Workforce Pell
- GI Bill
Other Texas metro areas
- Dallas area22 programs
- McAllen area11 programs
- San Antonio area12 programs
- Austin area5 programs
- Brownsville area4 programs
- El Paso area4 programs
- Corpus Christi area3 programs