CareerFunded Find training near you

Home / EMT and Paramedic Classes / Texas / Texas Southmost College

EMT and paramedic program at Texas Southmost College

Brownsville, TX · Public 2-year · (956) 295-3600 · School website

On Texas's WIOA eligible training provider list (DOL file dated June 30, 2025) School takes federal student aid (IPEDS) Accreditor on file: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges

The program in figures

Tuition and fees, whole programIPEDS 2024-25, certificate (12 weeks to under 1 year)
Not reported
LengthIPEDS
Not reported
CompletionsIPEDS 2023-24, all levels
15
Graduates' median earnings, 1 year afterCollege Scorecard
Not published (small cohort)
National median, same field, 4 years afterCollege Scorecard, all schools
$57,584
Typical pay for EMTs and paramedicsBLS OEWS May 2025, Brownsville-Harlingen, TX
$33,820

Every line comes from the federal file named under it. A blank means the source does not publish the figure for this program; we never estimate it.

About this program

Texas Southmost College awarded 15 EMT and paramedic credentials in 2023-24 (IPEDS), its third largest career program of 5 we list.

AwardCIPCompletionsLengthTuition
Certificate (12 weeks to under 1 year)51.0904 Emergency Medical Technology/Technician (EMT Paramedic)11Not reportedNot reported
Associate degree51.0904 Emergency Medical Technology/Technician (EMT Paramedic)4Not reportedNot reported

On Texas's WIOA eligible training provider list

People who meet WIOA's rules for training services can have their local workforce board pay for a program on the state's eligible training provider list. Limits vary by area. How WIOA training funds work.

Listed programTuition and feesLengthCompletedEmployed, 2nd quarterMedian earnings, 2nd quarterStudents who exited
Emergency Medical Science (associate)Associate of Applied Science · Hybrid (in person and online) · CIP 51.0904$10,191+ $1,340 booksCompetency-based or withheld80.8%61.1%$11,59226
Emergency Medical Science (certificate level one)Certificate of Proficiency - Level One · Hybrid (in person and online) · CIP 51.0904$3,411+ $700 booksCompetency-based or withheldSuppressedSuppressedSuppressedSuppressed
Emergency Medical Science (certificate level two)Certificate of Proficiency - Level Two · Hybrid (in person and online) · CIP 51.0904$7,855+ $1,216 booksCompetency-based or withheldSuppressedSuppressedSuppressedSuppressed

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov program file (ETA-9171): programs on state lists as of June 30, 2025; outcomes for all students who exited between July 2021 and June 2025, not only WIOA-funded ones. Median earnings are one quarter's pay in the second quarter after exit. Suppressed means DOL withheld the figure (a small group, nothing reported, or a data quality hold); for length it can also mean a competency-based program. Matched to this page by provider name, address and field of study (CIP code).

Compare nearby EMT and paramedic programs

Find training near you Who pays