Home / Auto Mechanic Programs / Texas / Houston area
Auto Mechanic Programs in the Houston area
Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX metro area
Programs
7
1 within 10 miles
Median pay here
$50,940
automotive service technicians and mechanics, BLS May 2025
Lowest listed cost
$49,750
of 1 with a cost, IPEDS
Auto Mechanic Programs in the Houston area at a glance
- Open to the public
- 7 programs: 7 at colleges and schools (IPEDS)
- Distance from Houston
- 1 within 10 miles; nearest 6.9 miles, farthest 44.2 miles
- Listed program cost
- 1 of 7 list one: $49,750 (IPEDS)
- Program length
- 1 college lists a length: 15 months (IPEDS)
- Length on the WIOA list
- 1 listed program gives weeks: 51 weeks full time
- Completions, 2023-24
- 957 automotive awards at the 7 colleges that reported any (IPEDS)
- On the WIOA list
- 1 of 7 on Louisiana's eligible training list (DOL file, June 30, 2025)
- Pay here
- $50,940 median for automotive service technicians and mechanics ($24.49 an hour); 10th to 90th percentile $29,380 to $83,180; 14,910 employed in the metro area; Texas median $48,310 (BLS OEWS, May 2025)
Automotive programs, nearest to Houston first
| Program | Where | Type | Program cost | Length | Completions | Miles |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Houston Community College | Houston | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 71 | 6.9 |
| San Jacinto Community College | Pasadena | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 117 | 10.5 |
| Lee College | Baytown | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 71 | 19.0 |
| Alvin Community College | Alvin | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 10 | 19.8 |
| Universal Technical Institute of Texas Inc.WIOA list | Houston | Associate | $49,750 | 15 months | 468 | 22.7 |
| Lone Star College System | The Woodlands | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 213 | 37.1 |
| Brazosport College | Lake Jackson | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 7 | 44.2 |
- College programs, cost and completions: IPEDS complete data files, 2024-25 collection, read October 8, 2026.
- WIOA list: DOL TrainingProviderResults.gov program file (ETA-9171), read October 8, 2026.
- Pay: BLS OEWS, May 2025, Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX, read October 8, 2026.
Paying for training
- WIOA in Texas: 5,743 programs are on the state's list in the U.S. DOL file, 82 of them Automotive.
- Pell Grants for short programs
- Workforce Pell
- GI Bill
Other Texas metro areas
- Dallas area7 programs
- El Paso area3 programs