CareerFunded Find training near you

Home / Medical Billing and Coding Programs / Alaska / University of Alaska Fairbanks

Billing and coding program at University of Alaska Fairbanks

Fairbanks, AK · Public 4-year · (907) 474-7034 · School website

On Alaska's WIOA eligible training provider list (DOL file dated June 30, 2025) School takes federal student aid (IPEDS) Accreditor on file: Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities

The program in figures

Tuition and fees, whole programIPEDS 2024-25, certificate (12 weeks to under 1 year)
Not reported
LengthIPEDS
Not reported
CompletionsIPEDS 2023-24, all levels
15
Graduates' median earnings, 1 year afterCollege Scorecard
Not published (small cohort)
National median, same field, 4 years afterCollege Scorecard, all schools
$35,447
Typical pay for medical records specialistsBLS OEWS May 2025, Fairbanks-College, AK
$61,090

Every line comes from the federal file named under it. A blank means the source does not publish the figure for this program; we never estimate it.

About this program

University of Alaska Fairbanks awarded 15 billing and coding credentials in 2023-24 (IPEDS), its largest career program of 13 we list.

AwardCIPCompletionsLengthTuition
Certificate (12 weeks to under 1 year)51.0713 Medical Insurance Coding Specialist/Coder3Not reportedNot reported
Certificate (12 weeks to under 1 year)51.0714 Medical Insurance Specialist/Medical Biller0Not reportedNot reported
Certificate (1 to under 2 years)51.0713 Medical Insurance Coding Specialist/Coder12Not reportedNot reported

On Alaska's WIOA eligible training provider list

People who meet WIOA's rules for training services can have their local workforce board pay for a program on the state's eligible training provider list. Limits vary by area. How WIOA training funds work.

Listed programTuition and feesLengthCompletedEmployed, 2nd quarterMedian earnings, 2nd quarterStudents who exited
Medical Coding (OEC)Occupational Endorsement Certificate · In person · CIP 51.0713$4,500+ $1,125 books15 weeks, 15 hours a week100%75%$4,7364
Medical Billing (OEC)Occupational Endorsement Certificate · In person · CIP 51.0714$3,600+ $900 books15 weeks, 9 hours a weekSuppressedSuppressedSuppressedSuppressed
Medical Scribe (OEC)Occupational Endorsement Certificate · Hybrid (in person and online) · CIP 51.0713$5,100+ $1,275 books17 weeks, 15 hours a weekSuppressedSuppressedSuppressedSuppressed
Medical Scribe Specialist (CT2)Medical Scribe Specialist Certificate · Hybrid (in person and online) · CIP 51.0713$9,600+ $2,400 books32 weeks, 15 hours a weekSuppressedSuppressedSuppressedSuppressed

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov program file (ETA-9171): programs on state lists as of June 30, 2025; outcomes for all students who exited between July 2021 and June 2025, not only WIOA-funded ones. Median earnings are one quarter's pay in the second quarter after exit. Suppressed means DOL withheld the figure (a small group, nothing reported, or a data quality hold); for length it can also mean a competency-based program. Matched to this page by provider name, address and field of study (CIP code).

Compare nearby billing and coding programs

No other billing and coding program with its own page lies within 50 miles of Fairbanks.

Find training near you Who pays