Home / Auto Mechanic Programs / Virginia / Tidewater Community College
Automotive program at Tidewater Community College
Norfolk, VA · Public 2-year · (757) 822-1111 · School website
The program in figures
- Tuition and fees, whole programIPEDS 2024-25, certificate (12 weeks to under 1 year)
- Not reported
- LengthIPEDS
- Not reported
- CompletionsIPEDS 2023-24, all levels
- 269
- Graduates' earningsCollege Scorecard reports Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians as one group at this school
- Not shown for this program alone
- National median, same field, 4 years afterCollege Scorecard, all schools
- $51,586
- Typical pay for automotive service technicians and mechanicsBLS OEWS May 2025, Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk, VA-NC
- $58,290
Every line comes from the federal file named under it. A blank means the source does not publish the figure for this program; we never estimate it.
About this program
Tidewater Community College awarded 269 automotive credentials in 2023-24 (IPEDS), its largest career program of 11 we list.
| Award | CIP | Completions | Length | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate (12 weeks to under 1 year) | 47.0604 Automobile/Automotive Mechanics Technology/Technician | 248 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Certificate (1 to under 2 years) | 47.0604 Automobile/Automotive Mechanics Technology/Technician | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Associate degree | 47.0604 Automobile/Automotive Mechanics Technology/Technician | 21 | Not reported | Not reported |
On Virginia's WIOA eligible training provider list
People who meet WIOA's rules for training services can have their local workforce board pay for a program on the state's eligible training provider list. Limits vary by area. How WIOA training funds work.
| Listed program | Tuition and fees | Length | Completed | Employed, 2nd quarter | Median earnings, 2nd quarter | Students who exited |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Automotive TechnologyAssociate's Degree · In person · CIP 47.0604 | $12,853+ $50 books | 75 weeks, 23 hours a week | 100% | 55.6% | $10,467 | 19 |
| Automotive TechnicianCareer Studies Certificate · In person · CIP 47.0604 | $8,220+ $50 books | 30 weeks, 23 hours a week | Suppressed | Suppressed | Suppressed | Suppressed |
Source: U.S. Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov program file (ETA-9171): programs on state lists as of June 30, 2025; outcomes for all students who exited between July 2021 and June 2025, not only WIOA-funded ones. Median earnings are one quarter's pay in the second quarter after exit. Suppressed means DOL withheld the figure (a small group, nothing reported, or a data quality hold); for length it can also mean a competency-based program. Matched to this page by provider name, address and field of study (CIP code).
Compare nearby automotive programs
- Tidewater Tech-TradesNorfolk, VA · 3.4 mi
- Advanced Technology InstituteVirginia Beach, VA · 6.1 mi
- Virginia Peninsula Community CollegeHampton, VA · 16.4 mi
Auto Mechanic Programs in the Virginia Beach area · Auto Mechanic Programs in Virginia · All programs at Tidewater Community College