Home / EMT and Paramedic Classes / North Carolina / Southwestern Community College
EMT and paramedic program at Southwestern Community College
Sylva, NC · Public 2-year · (828) 339-4000 · School website
The program in figures
- Tuition and fees, whole programIPEDS 2024-25, certificate (12 weeks to under 1 year)
- Not reported
- LengthIPEDS
- Not reported
- CompletionsIPEDS 2023-24, all levels
- 5
- Graduates' median earnings, 1 year afterCollege Scorecard
- Not published (small cohort)
- Typical pay for EMTs and paramedicsBLS OEWS May 2025, North Carolina
- $44,250
Every line comes from the federal file named under it. A blank means the source does not publish the figure for this program; we never estimate it.
About this program
Southwestern Community College awarded 5 EMT and paramedic credentials in 2023-24 (IPEDS), its number 10 career program of 12 we list.
| Award | CIP | Completions | Length | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate (12 weeks to under 1 year) | 51.0904 Emergency Medical Technology/Technician (EMT Paramedic) | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Associate degree | 51.0904 Emergency Medical Technology/Technician (EMT Paramedic) | 4 | Not reported | Not reported |
On North Carolina's WIOA eligible training provider list
People who meet WIOA's rules for training services can have their local workforce board pay for a program on the state's eligible training provider list. Limits vary by area. How WIOA training funds work.
| Listed program | Tuition and fees | Length | Completed | Employed, 2nd quarter | Median earnings, 2nd quarter | Students who exited |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Emergency Medical ScienceEmergency Medical Science · In person · CIP 51.0904 | $6,052+ $1,789 books | 72 weeks, 15 hours a week | 43.8% | 75.9% | $16,812 | 32 |
Source: U.S. Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov program file (ETA-9171): programs on state lists as of June 30, 2025; outcomes for all students who exited between July 2021 and June 2025, not only WIOA-funded ones. Median earnings are one quarter's pay in the second quarter after exit. Suppressed means DOL withheld the figure (a small group, nothing reported, or a data quality hold); for length it can also mean a competency-based program. Matched to this page by provider name, address and field of study (CIP code).
Compare nearby EMT and paramedic programs
- Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community CollegeAsheville, NC · 39.8 mi
- Blue Ridge Community CollegeFlat Rock, NC · 44.1 mi
- Tri-County Community CollegeMurphy, NC · 47.1 mi
EMT and Paramedic Classes in North Carolina · All programs at Southwestern Community College