CareerFunded Find training near you

Home / Diesel Mechanic Programs / Texas / South Plains College

Diesel program at South Plains College

Levelland, TX · Public 2-year · School website

On Texas's WIOA training list (U.S. DOL file, programs listed June 30, 2025) School takes federal student aid (IPEDS) Accreditor on file: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges

The program in figures

Tuition and fees, whole programIPEDS 2024-25, certificate (12 weeks to under 1 year)
Not reported
LengthIPEDS
Not reported
CompletionsIPEDS 2023-24, all levels
40
Graduates' earningsCollege Scorecard reports Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians as one group at this school
Not shown for this program alone
National median, same field, 4 years afterCollege Scorecard, all schools
$51,586
Typical pay for bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialistsBLS OEWS May 2025, Lubbock, TX
$49,900

Every line comes from the federal file named under it. A blank means the source does not publish the figure for this program; we never estimate it.

About this program

South Plains College awarded 40 diesel credentials in 2023-24 (IPEDS), its number 5 career program of 10 we list.

AwardCIPCompletionsLengthTuition
Certificate (12 weeks to under 1 year)47.0605 Diesel Mechanics Technology/Technician37Not reportedNot reported
Associate degree47.0605 Diesel Mechanics Technology/Technician3Not reportedNot reported

On Texas's WIOA eligible training list

People who meet WIOA's rules for training services can have their local workforce board pay for a program on the state's approved training list. Limits vary by area. How WIOA training funds work.

Listed programListed costWeeksCompletedEmployed, Q2Median earnings, Q2
Diesel Equipment Certificate$3,050Not listed100%69.6%$11,533
Diesel Service Technology AAS$6,980Not listed100%75%$14,719
Diesel Transportation Certificate$4,475Not listed100%81.2%$9,158
Basic Diesel Technology Certificate$8,713Not listed100%73.1%$6,418

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov program file (ETA-9171): programs on state lists as of June 30, 2025; outcomes for all participants who exited between July 2021 and June 2025. Suppressed means the state withheld a small count. Matched to this school by name and address.

Compare nearby diesel programs

No other diesel program with its own page lies within 50 miles of Levelland.

Find training near you Who pays