Home / Medical Billing and Coding Programs / Michigan / Schoolcraft Community College District
Billing and coding program at Schoolcraft Community College District
Livonia, MI · Public 4-year · (734) 462-4400 · School website
The program in figures
- Tuition and fees, whole programIPEDS 2024-25, certificate (12 weeks to under 1 year)
- Not reported
- LengthIPEDS
- Not reported
- CompletionsIPEDS 2023-24, all levels
- 36
- Graduates' median earnings, 1 year afterCollege Scorecard, 62 graduates
- $29,298
- Median earnings, 4 years afterCollege Scorecard
- $37,927
- Median federal debtCollege Scorecard, about $94 a month over 10 years
- $8,904
- National median, same field, 4 years afterCollege Scorecard, all schools
- $35,447
- Typical pay for medical records specialistsBLS OEWS May 2025, Detroit-Warren-Dearborn, MI
- $46,730
Every line comes from the federal file named under it. A blank means the source does not publish the figure for this program; we never estimate it.
About this program
Schoolcraft Community College District awarded 36 billing and coding credentials in 2023-24 (IPEDS), its second largest career program of 13 we list.
| Award | CIP | Completions | Length | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate (12 weeks to under 1 year) | 51.0714 Medical Insurance Specialist/Medical Biller | 14 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Certificate (1 to under 2 years) | 51.0707 Health Information/Medical Records Technology/Technician | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Associate degree | 51.0707 Health Information/Medical Records Technology/Technician | 20 | Not reported | Not reported |
On Michigan's WIOA eligible training provider list
People who meet WIOA's rules for training services can have their local workforce board pay for a program on the state's eligible training provider list. Limits vary by area. How WIOA training funds work.
| Listed program | Tuition and fees | Length | Completed | Employed, 2nd quarter | Median earnings, 2nd quarter | Students who exited |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Health Coding SpecialistHealth: Coding Specialist · In person · CIP 51.0707 | $7,429 | 36 weeks, 13 hours a week | 52.6% | 88.9% | $10,151 | 19 |
| Health Information TechnologyHealth Information Technology · In person · CIP 51.0707 | $12,886 | 48 weeks, 14 hours a week | 66.7% | 76% | $10,479 | 24 |
| Medical Biller ReceptionistMedical Biller/Receptionist Skills Certificate · In person · CIP 51.0714 | $2,697 | 28 weeks, 10 hours a week | 45.8% | 73.3% | $7,004 | 24 |
Source: U.S. Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov program file (ETA-9171): programs on state lists as of June 30, 2025; outcomes for all students who exited between July 2021 and June 2025, not only WIOA-funded ones. Median earnings are one quarter's pay in the second quarter after exit. Suppressed means DOL withheld the figure (a small group, nothing reported, or a data quality hold); for length it can also mean a competency-based program. Matched to this page by provider name, address and field of study (CIP code).
Compare nearby billing and coding programs
- Dorsey College-WayneWayne, MI · 9.8 mi
- Henry Ford CollegeDearborn, MI · 11.9 mi
- Dorsey College-DearbornDetroit, MI · 12.4 mi
- Washtenaw Community CollegeAnn Arbor, MI · 16.1 mi
- Carnegie InstituteTroy, MI · 17.9 mi
- Dorsey CollegeMadison Heights, MI · 18.0 mi
Medical Billing and Coding Programs in the Detroit area · Medical Billing and Coding Programs in Michigan · All programs at Schoolcraft Community College District