CareerFunded Find training near you

Home / Medical Billing and Coding Programs / New Mexico / New Mexico State University-Dona Ana

Billing and coding program at New Mexico State University-Dona Ana

Las Cruces, NM · Public 2-year · (575) 528-7000 · School website

On New Mexico's WIOA eligible training provider list (DOL file dated June 30, 2025) School takes federal student aid (IPEDS) Accreditor on file: Higher Learning Commission

The program in figures

Tuition and fees, whole programIPEDS 2024-25, certificate (12 weeks to under 1 year)
Not reported
LengthIPEDS
Not reported
CompletionsIPEDS 2023-24, all levels
19
Graduates' median earnings, 1 year afterCollege Scorecard
Not published (small cohort)
National median, same field, 4 years afterCollege Scorecard, all schools
$35,447
Typical pay for medical records specialistsBLS OEWS May 2025, Las Cruces, NM
$44,160

Every line comes from the federal file named under it. A blank means the source does not publish the figure for this program; we never estimate it.

About this program

New Mexico State University-Dona Ana awarded 19 billing and coding credentials in 2023-24 (IPEDS), its number 4 career program of 16 we list.

AwardCIPCompletionsLengthTuition
Certificate (12 weeks to under 1 year)51.0714 Medical Insurance Specialist/Medical Biller19Not reportedNot reported
Certificate (1 to under 2 years)51.0714 Medical Insurance Specialist/Medical Biller0Not reportedNot reported

On New Mexico's WIOA eligible training provider list

People who meet WIOA's rules for training services can have their local workforce board pay for a program on the state's eligible training provider list. Limits vary by area. How WIOA training funds work.

Listed programTuition and feesLengthCompletedEmployed, 2nd quarterMedian earnings, 2nd quarterStudents who exited
Certified Billing and Coding Specialist - Industry Credential, Non-CreditCertified Medical Billing and Coding Specialist (CBCS) · Online only · CIP 51.0714$2,59052 weeks, 40 hours a week100%55.4%$9,10653
Health Information Technology - Associate of Applied ScienceAssociate of Applied Science · Hybrid (in person and online) · CIP 51.0707$3,456+ $2,550 books15 weeks, 16 hours a weekSuppressedSuppressedSuppressedSuppressed

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov program file (ETA-9171): programs on state lists as of June 30, 2025; outcomes for all students who exited between July 2021 and June 2025, not only WIOA-funded ones. Median earnings are one quarter's pay in the second quarter after exit. Suppressed means DOL withheld the figure (a small group, nothing reported, or a data quality hold); for length it can also mean a competency-based program. Matched to this page by provider name, address and field of study (CIP code).

Find training near you Who pays