CareerFunded Find training near you

Home / Cosmetology Schools / California / Laney College

Cosmetology program at Laney College

Oakland, CA · Public 2-year · (510) 834-5740 · School website

On California's WIOA training list (U.S. DOL file, programs listed June 30, 2025) School takes federal student aid (IPEDS) Accreditor on file: Western Association of Schools and Colleges Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges

The program in figures

Tuition and fees, whole programIPEDS 2024-25, certificate (1 to under 2 years)
Not reported
LengthIPEDS
Not reported
CompletionsIPEDS 2023-24, all levels
35
Graduates' median earnings, 1 year afterCollege Scorecard
Not published (small cohort)
National median, same field, 4 years afterCollege Scorecard, all schools
$26,307
Typical pay for hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologistsBLS OEWS May 2025, San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA
$42,400

Every line comes from the federal file named under it. A blank means the source does not publish the figure for this program; we never estimate it.

About this program

Laney College awarded 35 cosmetology credentials in 2023-24 (IPEDS), its largest career program of 7 we list.

AwardCIPCompletionsLengthTuition
Certificate (1 to under 2 years)12.0401 Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General27Not reportedNot reported
Associate degree12.0401 Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General8Not reportedNot reported

On California's WIOA eligible training list

People who meet WIOA's rules for training services can have their local workforce board pay for a program on the state's approved training list. Limits vary by area. How WIOA training funds work.

Listed programListed costWeeksCompletedEmployed, Q2Median earnings, Q2
Cosmetology, Certificate of Achievement$2,44752SuppressedSuppressedSuppressed
Cosmetology, Associate of Arts$2,86152SuppressedSuppressedSuppressed

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov program file (ETA-9171): programs on state lists as of June 30, 2025; outcomes for all participants who exited between July 2021 and June 2025. Suppressed means the state withheld a small count. Matched to this school by name and address.

Compare nearby cosmetology programs

Find training near you Who pays