Home / Auto Mechanic Programs / North Carolina / Forsyth Technical Community College
Automotive program at Forsyth Technical Community College
Winston-Salem, NC · Public 2-year · (336) 723-0371 · School website
The program in figures
- Tuition and fees, whole programIPEDS 2024-25, certificate (12 weeks to under 1 year)
- Not reported
- LengthIPEDS
- Not reported
- CompletionsIPEDS 2023-24, all levels
- 85
- Graduates' median earnings, 1 year afterCollege Scorecard, 22 graduates
- $31,633
- Median federal debtCollege Scorecard, about $112 a month over 10 years
- $10,540
- National median, same field, 4 years afterCollege Scorecard, all schools
- $51,586
- Typical pay for automotive service technicians and mechanicsBLS OEWS May 2025, Winston-Salem, NC
- $46,080
Every line comes from the federal file named under it. A blank means the source does not publish the figure for this program; we never estimate it.
About this program
Forsyth Technical Community College awarded 85 automotive credentials in 2023-24 (IPEDS), its second largest career program of 14 we list.
| Award | CIP | Completions | Length | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate (12 weeks to under 1 year) | 47.0604 Automobile/Automotive Mechanics Technology/Technician | 10 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Certificate (1 to under 2 years) | 47.0604 Automobile/Automotive Mechanics Technology/Technician | 28 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Associate degree | 47.0604 Automobile/Automotive Mechanics Technology/Technician | 47 | Not reported | Not reported |
On North Carolina's WIOA eligible training provider list
People who meet WIOA's rules for training services can have their local workforce board pay for a program on the state's eligible training provider list. Limits vary by area. How WIOA training funds work.
| Listed program | Tuition and fees | Length | Completed | Employed, 2nd quarter | Median earnings, 2nd quarter | Students who exited |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Automotive Systems Technology, AAS DegreeAssociate in Applied Science Degree - Automotive Systems Technology · In person · CIP 47.0604 | $5,168+ $1,200 books | 80 weeks, 13 hours a week | 22.5% | 81.5% | $9,340 | 267 |
| Automotive Systems TechnologyDiploma - Automotive Systems Technology · In person · CIP 47.0604 | $3,344+ $1,200 books | 80 weeks, 9 hours a week | Suppressed | 67.5% | $6,870 | 59 |
| Auto Safety Inspection: OBD IIOBD II Inspections · In person · CIP 47.0604 | $80 | 1 week, 8 hours a week | Suppressed | Suppressed | Suppressed | Suppressed |
Source: U.S. Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov program file (ETA-9171): programs on state lists as of June 30, 2025; outcomes for all students who exited between July 2021 and June 2025, not only WIOA-funded ones. Median earnings are one quarter's pay in the second quarter after exit. Suppressed means DOL withheld the figure (a small group, nothing reported, or a data quality hold); for length it can also mean a competency-based program. Matched to this page by provider name, address and field of study (CIP code).
Compare nearby automotive programs
- Davidson-Davie Community CollegeThomasville, NC · 14.9 mi
- Guilford Technical Community CollegeJamestown, NC · 20.2 mi
- Rowan-Cabarrus Community CollegeSalisbury, NC · 31.9 mi
- Surry Community CollegeDobson, NC · 33.0 mi
- Randolph Community CollegeAsheboro, NC · 36.9 mi
- NASCAR Technical InstituteMooresville, NC · 45.7 mi · $51,400
Auto Mechanic Programs in North Carolina · All programs at Forsyth Technical Community College