Home / Medical Billing and Coding Programs / California / San Francisco area
Medical Billing and Coding Programs in the San Francisco area
San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA metro area
Programs
5
1 within 10 miles
Median pay here
$74,400
medical records specialists, BLS May 2025
Lowest listed cost
$1,200
of 3 with a cost, DOL WIOA list and IPEDS
Medical Billing and Coding Programs in the San Francisco area at a glance
- Open to the public
- 5 programs: 3 at colleges and schools (IPEDS), 2 known only from the WIOA list
- Distance from San Francisco
- 1 within 10 miles; nearest 3.2 miles, farthest 26.3 miles
- Listed program cost
- 3 of 5 list one: $1,200 to $19,958, middle $2,000 (DOL WIOA list and IPEDS)
- Program length
- 1 college lists a length: 8 months (IPEDS)
- Length on the WIOA list
- 3 listed programs give weeks: 25 to 36 weeks full time
- Completions, 2023-24
- 34 billing and coding awards at the 3 colleges that reported any (IPEDS)
- On the WIOA list
- 3 of 5 on California's eligible training list (DOL file, June 30, 2025)
- Pay here
- $74,400 median for medical records specialists ($35.77 an hour); 10th to 90th percentile $49,520 to $107,470; 1,880 employed in the metro area; California median $61,810 (BLS OEWS, May 2025)
Billing and coding programs, nearest to San Francisco first
| Program | Where | Type | Program cost | Length | Completions | Miles |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carrington College-San Leandro Campus | San Leandro | Certificate | $19,958 | 8 months | 1 | 3.2 |
| Martinez Adult EducationWIOA list | Martinez | WIOA list only | $1,200 | Not reported | 16.3 | |
| City College of San FranciscoWIOA list | San Francisco | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 28 | 17.4 |
| Canada College | Redwood City | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 5 | 21.7 |
| Liberty Adult EducationWIOA list | Brentwood | WIOA list only | $2,000 | Not reported | 26.3 |
- College programs, cost and completions: IPEDS complete data files, 2024-25 collection, read October 8, 2026.
- WIOA list: DOL TrainingProviderResults.gov program file (ETA-9171), read October 8, 2026.
- Pay: BLS OEWS, May 2025, San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA, read October 8, 2026.
Paying for training
- WIOA in California: 4,171 programs are on the state's list in the U.S. DOL file, 95 of them Billing and coding.
- Pell Grants for short programs
- Workforce Pell
- GI Bill
Other California metro areas
- Los Angeles area42 programs
- Riverside area7 programs
- Sacramento area6 programs
- San Diego area5 programs
- Bakersfield area4 programs