Home / Medical Assistant Programs / Pennsylvania / Pittsburgh area
Medical Assistant Programs in the Pittsburgh area
Pittsburgh, PA metro area
Programs
9
in the metro area
Median pay here
$42,840
medical assistants, BLS May 2025
Lowest listed cost
$2,795
of 2 with a cost, DOL WIOA list and IPEDS
Medical Assistant Programs in the Pittsburgh area at a glance
- Open to the public
- 9 programs: 8 at colleges and schools (IPEDS), 1 known only from the WIOA list
- Distance from Pittsburgh
- none within 10 miles; nearest 12.6 miles, farthest 33.3 miles
- Listed program cost
- 2 of 9 list one: $2,795 to $9,000 (DOL WIOA list and IPEDS)
- Program length
- 1 college lists a length: 7 months (IPEDS)
- Length on the WIOA list
- 1 listed program gives weeks: 52 weeks full time
- Completions, 2023-24
- 46 medical assistant awards at the 7 colleges that reported any (IPEDS)
- On the WIOA list
- 1 of 9 on Pennsylvania's eligible training list (DOL file, June 30, 2025)
- Pay here
- $42,840 median for medical assistants ($20.60 an hour); 10th to 90th percentile $34,790 to $47,010; 4,810 employed in the metro area; Pennsylvania median $43,920 (BLS OEWS, May 2025)
Medical assistant programs, nearest to Pittsburgh first
| Program | Where | Type | Program cost | Length | Completions | Miles |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| West Virginia Junior College-United Career Institute | Irwin | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 0 | 12.6 |
| Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 9 | 13.3 |
| Institute of Medical Careers | Pittsburgh | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 20 | 14.2 |
| Pittsburgh Technical College INCWIOA list | Oakdale | WIOA list only | $2,795 | Not reported | 15.8 | |
| Penn Commercial Business/Technical School | Washington | Associate | Not reported | Not reported | 1 | 17.9 |
| Westmoreland County Community College | Youngwood | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 5 | 19.0 |
| Laurel Business Institute | Uniontown | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 7 | 27.7 |
| Fayette County Career & Technical Institute Practical Nursing Program | Uniontown | Certificate | $9,000 | 7 months | 2 | 30.1 |
| Community College of Beaver County | Monaca | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 2 | 33.3 |
- College programs, cost and completions: IPEDS complete data files, 2024-25 collection, read October 8, 2026.
- WIOA list: DOL TrainingProviderResults.gov program file (ETA-9171), read October 8, 2026.
- Pay: BLS OEWS, May 2025, Pittsburgh, PA, read October 8, 2026.
Paying for training
- WIOA in Pennsylvania: 1,470 programs are on the state's list in the U.S. DOL file, 7 of them Medical assistant.
- Pell Grants for short programs
- Workforce Pell
- GI Bill
Other Pennsylvania metro areas
- Philadelphia area16 programs
- Allentown area5 programs
- Scranton area4 programs