Home / HVAC Schools / Arizona / Phoenix area
HVAC Schools in the Phoenix area
Phoenix-Mesa-Chandler, AZ metro area
Programs
10
3 within 10 miles
Median pay here
$61,170
HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers, BLS May 2025
Lowest listed cost
$5,500
of 6 with a cost, IPEDS
HVAC Schools in the Phoenix area at a glance
- Open to the public
- 10 programs: 10 at colleges and schools (IPEDS)
- Distance from Phoenix
- 3 within 10 miles; nearest 2.4 miles, farthest 39.5 miles
- Listed program cost
- 6 of 10 list one: $5,500 to $21,500, middle $20,025 (IPEDS)
- Program length
- 6 colleges list a length: 5 months to 10 months (IPEDS)
- Length on the WIOA list
- 1 listed program gives weeks: 38 weeks full time
- Completions, 2023-24
- 446 HVAC awards at the 9 colleges that reported any (IPEDS)
- On the WIOA list
- 4 of 10 on Arizona's eligible training list (DOL file, June 30, 2025)
- Pay here
- $61,170 median for HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers ($29.41 an hour); 10th to 90th percentile $38,210 to $83,180; 8,070 employed in the metro area; Arizona median $59,400 (BLS OEWS, May 2025)
HVAC programs, nearest to Phoenix first
| Program | Where | Type | Program cost | Length | Completions | Miles |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GateWay Community College | Phoenix | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 27 | 2.4 |
| Refrigeration School IncWIOA list | Phoenix | Certificate | $20,025 | 6 months | 146 | 2.7 |
| East Valley Institute of TechnologyWIOA list | Mesa | Certificate | $5,500 | 5 months | 44 | 9.8 |
| Carrington College-Phoenix North | Phoenix | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 18 | 10.1 |
| UEI College-MesaWIOA list | Mesa | Certificate | $21,500 | 9 months | 30 | 10.1 |
| Miller-Motte College-Arizona Automotive InstituteWIOA list | Glendale | Certificate | $18,790 | 10 months | 14 | 10.2 |
| UEI College-Phoenix | Phoenix | Certificate | $21,500 | 9 months | 141 | 10.7 |
| Universal Technical Institute of Arizona Inc | Avondale | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 0 | 14.8 |
| Western Maricopa Education Center | Glendale | Certificate | $7,100 | 6 months | 16 | 16.6 |
| Central Arizona College | Coolidge | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 10 | 39.5 |
- College programs, cost and completions: IPEDS complete data files, 2024-25 collection, read October 8, 2026.
- WIOA list: DOL TrainingProviderResults.gov program file (ETA-9171), read October 8, 2026.
- Pay: BLS OEWS, May 2025, Phoenix-Mesa-Chandler, AZ, read October 8, 2026.
Paying for training
- WIOA in Arizona: 1,069 programs are on the state's list in the U.S. DOL file, 16 of them HVAC.
- Pell Grants for short programs
- Workforce Pell
- GI Bill