Home / Cosmetology Schools / South Dakota
Cosmetology Schools in South Dakota
Colleges and schools: 4
Programs
4
all sources
Median pay
$49,800
hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists, BLS May 2025; U.S. $35,790
Middle program cost
$16,450
3 programs report one, IPEDS
On the WIOA list
2
Cosmetology programs, U.S. DOL file
Cosmetology Schools in South Dakota: the figures
- Programs we list
- 4 in South Dakota: 4 at colleges and schools.
- Colleges and schools
- 1 public and 3 private; 135 cosmetology completions in 2023-24 at the 4 that reported any (IPEDS).
- Listed program cost
- Middle $16,450 in South Dakota, from $14,300 to $16,485, across 3 programs that report one (IPEDS).
- Median pay
- $49,800 a year for hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists in South Dakota, against $35,790 for the U.S. (BLS OEWS, May 2025).
- WIOA training funds
- WIOA in South Dakota: 259 programs from 21 providers on the state's list in the U.S. DOL file, 2 of them cosmetology.
Every cosmetology program in South Dakota
| Program | Where | Type | Program cost | Length | Completions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lake Area Technical CollegeWIOA list | Watertown | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 35 |
| Paul Mitchell the School-Rapid CityWIOA list | Rapid City | Certificate | $16,450 | 11 months | 17 |
| Stewart School | Sioux Falls | Certificate | $14,300 | 13 months | 63 |
| The Salon Professional Academy | Rapid City | Certificate | $16,485 | 12 months | 20 |
- College programs, cost and completions: IPEDS complete data files, 2024-25 collection, read October 8, 2026.
- WIOA list: DOL TrainingProviderResults.gov program file (ETA-9171), read October 8, 2026.
- Pay: BLS OEWS, May 2025, South Dakota, read October 8, 2026.
The same in every state: ways to pay for cosmetology training