Home / Cosmetology Schools / Massachusetts / Boston area
Cosmetology Schools in the Boston area
Boston-Cambridge-Newton, MA-NH metro area (Massachusetts, New Hampshire)
Programs
8
1 within 10 miles
Median pay here
$37,430
hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists, BLS May 2025
Lowest listed cost
$11,642
of 7 with a cost, IPEDS
Cosmetology Schools in the Boston area at a glance
- Open to the public
- 8 programs: 8 at colleges and schools (IPEDS)
- Distance from Boston
- 1 within 10 miles; nearest 5.1 miles, farthest 44.6 miles
- Listed program cost
- 7 of 8 list one: $11,642 to $21,480, middle $14,590 (IPEDS)
- Program length
- 7 colleges list a length: 7 months to 12 months (IPEDS)
- Length on the WIOA list
- 1 listed program gives weeks: 29 weeks full time
- Completions, 2023-24
- 251 cosmetology awards at the 8 colleges that reported any (IPEDS)
- On the WIOA list
- 1 of 8 on Massachusetts's eligible training list (DOL file, June 30, 2025)
- Pay here
- $37,430 median for hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists ($18.00 an hour); 10th to 90th percentile $31,600 to $78,850; 7,870 employed in the metro area; Massachusetts median $37,290 (BLS OEWS, May 2025)
Cosmetology programs, nearest to Boston first
| Program | Where | Type | Program cost | Length | Completions | Miles |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| North Shore Community College | Danvers, MA | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 17 | 5.1 |
| New England Hair AcademyWIOA list | Malden, MA | Certificate | $16,550 | 7 months | 51 | 11.8 |
| Empire Beauty School-Malden | Malden, MA | Certificate | $13,600 | 7 months | 64 | 11.9 |
| Lowell Academy Hairstyling Institute | Lowell, MA | Certificate | $14,590 | 8 months | 19 | 12.6 |
| Jupiter Beauty Academy | Boston, MA | Certificate | $12,201 | 12 months | 13 | 20.3 |
| Paul Mitchell the School-Portsmouth | Portsmouth, NH | Certificate | $19,050 | 11 months | 41 | 36.4 |
| Tri County Regional Vocational Technical High School | Franklin, MA | Certificate | $11,642 | 10 months | 14 | 39.3 |
| Empire Beauty School-Somersworth | Somersworth, NH | Certificate | $21,480 | 12 months | 32 | 44.6 |
- College programs, cost and completions: IPEDS complete data files, 2024-25 collection, read October 8, 2026.
- WIOA list: DOL TrainingProviderResults.gov program file (ETA-9171), read October 8, 2026.
- Pay: BLS OEWS, May 2025, Boston-Cambridge-Newton, MA-NH, read October 8, 2026.
Paying for training
- WIOA in Massachusetts: 922 programs are on the state's list in the U.S. DOL file, 8 of them Cosmetology.
- Pell Grants for short programs
- Workforce Pell
- GI Bill
Other Massachusetts metro areas
- Worcester area3 programs