Home / Cosmetology Schools / Arizona / Phoenix area
Cosmetology Schools in the Phoenix area
Phoenix-Mesa-Chandler, AZ metro area
Programs
15
7 within 10 miles
Median pay here
$36,810
hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists, BLS May 2025
Lowest listed cost
$9,982
of 14 with a cost, IPEDS
Cosmetology Schools in the Phoenix area at a glance
- Open to the public
- 15 programs: 15 at colleges and schools (IPEDS)
- Distance from Phoenix
- 7 within 10 miles; nearest 3.7 miles, farthest 40.8 miles
- Listed program cost
- 14 of 15 list one: $9,982 to $20,700, middle $17,975 (IPEDS)
- Program length
- 14 colleges list a length: 11 months to 20 months (IPEDS)
- Completions, 2023-24
- 800 cosmetology awards at the 15 colleges that reported any (IPEDS)
- On the WIOA list
- 5 of 15 on Arizona's eligible training list (DOL file, June 30, 2025)
- Pay here
- $36,810 median for hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists ($17.70 an hour); 10th to 90th percentile $31,340 to $56,890; 6,440 employed in the metro area; Arizona median $36,810 (BLS OEWS, May 2025)
Cosmetology programs, nearest to Phoenix first
| Program | Where | Type | Program cost | Length | Completions | Miles |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GateWay Community College-Central City | Phoenix | Certificate | $9,982 | 20 months | 30 | 3.7 |
| Xtylo Beauty College | Phoenix | Certificate | $14,250 | 12 months | 20 | 4.9 |
| Aveda Institute-Phoenix | Tempe | Certificate | $20,700 | 12 months | 68 | 5.1 |
| Mesa Community College | Mesa | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 3 | 7.5 |
| East Valley Institute of Technology | Mesa | Certificate | $12,500 | 13 months | 8 | 7.8 |
| Avalon Institute-MesaWIOA list | Mesa | Certificate | $17,600 | 14 months | 111 | 8.5 |
| Empire Beauty School-Chandler | Chandler | Certificate | $19,200 | 11 months | 37 | 9.1 |
| Studio Academy of BeautyWIOA list | Chandler | Certificate | $18,835 | 12 months | 109 | 10.3 |
| Paul Mitchell the School-Phoenix | Phoenix | Certificate | $17,975 | 11 months | 35 | 11.1 |
| Penrose Academy | Scottsdale | Certificate | $18,320 | 12 months | 78 | 14.4 |
| Xtylo Beauty CollegeWIOA list | Tolleson | Certificate | $14,250 | 12 months | 44 | 15.2 |
| Empire Beauty School-Avondale | Avondale | Certificate | $19,200 | 11 months | 91 | 16.3 |
| Avalon Institute-PhoenixWIOA list | Phoenix | Certificate | $17,650 | 14 months | 110 | 16.6 |
| Aveda Institute Tucson-AvondaleWIOA list | Avondale | Certificate | $20,700 | 12 months | 40 | 17.9 |
| Turning Point Beauty College | Chandler | Certificate | $16,850 | 12 months | 16 | 40.8 |
- College programs, cost and completions: IPEDS complete data files, 2024-25 collection, read October 8, 2026.
- WIOA list: DOL TrainingProviderResults.gov program file (ETA-9171), read October 8, 2026.
- Pay: BLS OEWS, May 2025, Phoenix-Mesa-Chandler, AZ, read October 8, 2026.
Paying for training
- WIOA in Arizona: 1,069 programs are on the state's list in the U.S. DOL file, 14 of them Cosmetology.
- Pell Grants for short programs
- Workforce Pell
- GI Bill
Other Arizona metro areas
- Tucson area4 programs