Home / CDL Training / Michigan
CDL Training in Michigan
Michigan has 54 CDL programs in our files: 4 at colleges and career schools in IPEDS, 50 locations on FMCSA's training registry.
By metro area
- Detroit area18 programs · median pay $59,120
- Grand Rapids area4 programs · median pay $58,270
- Jackson area3 programs · median pay $56,080
Every CDL program in Michigan
| School or location | Where | Type | Program cost | Length | Completions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 247 smooth truck driving school LLCWIOA list | Dearborn | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| A&b CDL INC. | Grand Rapids | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| ABC Training and Testing | Jackson | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Active Pursuit Commercial Driving School, IncWIOA list | Ann Arbor | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| All Cities Truck Driving School INC | Shelby Township | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| All Stars Truck School Inc.WIOA list | Detroit | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Alpena Community College | Alpena | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Alpha Omega Utility Services | Jackson | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Billy's CDL School LLC | Novi | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| CDL and Operator Training, LLC | Harris | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| CDL and Operator Training, LLC | Marquette | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| CDL and Operator Training, LLC | Spalding | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Classic Driving School, Inc. | Washington | Range or theory | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Classic Driving School, Inc.WIOA list | Washington twp | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Coast To Coast Truck Driving School | Macomb | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Dedicated Driving SchoolWIOA list | Port Huron | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Drivexperience INC. | Detroit | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Ez Truck Driving School | Detroit | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Fcg Truck Driver Training, INCWIOA list | Byron Center | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Freedom Atlas School of Trucking LLC | West Branch | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Freedom TDS INC.WIOA list | Detroit | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| GOC Truck Driving SchoolWIOA list | Oscoda | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Gogebic Community CollegeWIOA list | Ironwood | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 11 |
| Gtr Trucking School INCWIOA list | Detroit | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Henry Ford College | Dearborn | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Humphrey's Driver Training and Testing | Owosso | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| JJFreight Training Center LLCWIOA list | Lansing | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Michigan Truck Driving School | Romulus | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Midwest Truck Driving SchoolWIOA list | Escanaba | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Pinnacle Truck Driver TrainingWIOA list | Cadillac | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Polyservice Driving School | Mount Morris | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Regen Trucking School LLCWIOA list | Freeland | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Regen Trucking School LLC | Freeland | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Regen Trucking School LLC | Mount Pleasant | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Regen Trucking School LLC | South Haven | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Regen Trucking School LLC | Sturgis | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Road Warrior Truck Driving School Inc.WIOA list | Gaylord | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Semi AcademyWIOA list | Lawton | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| SPE Group, Alpha Omega Safety Solutions | Jackson | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Suburban Truck Driver Training SchoolWIOA list | Romulus | Range or theory | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Suburban Truck Driver Training School | Romulus | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Thumb CDL LLC | Bad Axe | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Thumb CDL LLCWIOA list | Deckerville | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Thumb CDL LLC | Peck | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Training wheels cdl | Dorr | Class B road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Training wheels cdl | Hastings | Class B road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Tri-Area Trucking School | Benton Harbor | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Tri-Area Trucking School | Flint | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Tri-Area Trucking SchoolWIOA list | Freeland | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Tri-Area Trucking School | Monroe | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| Tri-Area Trucking School | St Johns | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported | |
| U.S. Truck Driver Training School | Sterling Heights | Certificate | $4,195 | 1 month | 790 |
| Wayne County Community College District | Detroit | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 234 |
| West Michigan C.D.L., Inc. | Grandville | Class A road | Not reported | Not reported |
Sources: IPEDS 2024 (programs, completions 2023-24, costs 2024-25); FMCSA Training Provider Registry. WIOA list: U.S. Department of Labor ETA-9171 file, programs listed June 30, 2025.
Rules that apply
Since February 7, 2022, people getting a first Class A or B CDL, or a passenger, school bus or hazmat endorsement, must first complete entry-level driver training from a provider on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry. (49 CFR 380, subpart F)
Theory and behind-the-wheel training (range and public road) must be finished within one year of completing the first part, except for the hazmat endorsement. (49 CFR 380.603(c)(3))
Paying for training in Michigan
- WIOA in Michigan: 2,599 programs from 298 providers on the state's list in the U.S. DOL file, 106 of them CDL.
- Company-sponsored CDL training
- GI Bill
No Workforce Pell list loaded for Michigan yet. What Workforce Pell covers.