Home / Barber Schools / Illinois / Chicago area
Barber Schools in the Chicago area
Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN metro area (Illinois, Indiana)
Programs
18
4 within 10 miles
Median pay here
$49,700
barbers, BLS May 2025
Lowest listed cost
$17,700
of 15 with a cost, IPEDS
Barber Schools in the Chicago area at a glance
- Open to the public
- 18 programs: 17 at colleges and schools (IPEDS), 1 known only from the WIOA list
- Distance from Chicago
- 4 within 10 miles; nearest 4.2 miles, farthest 46.3 miles
- Listed program cost
- 15 of 18 list one: $17,700 to $23,000, middle $19,982 (IPEDS)
- Program length
- 15 colleges list a length: 10 months to 16 months (IPEDS)
- Length on the WIOA list
- 1 listed program gives weeks: 32 weeks full time
- Completions, 2023-24
- 361 barbering awards at the 14 colleges that reported any (IPEDS)
- On the WIOA list
- 1 of 18 on Illinois's eligible training list (DOL file, June 30, 2025)
- Pay here
- $49,700 median for barbers ($23.89 an hour); 10th to 90th percentile $34,430 to $71,930; Illinois median $65,430 (BLS OEWS, May 2025)
Barbering programs, nearest to Chicago first
| Program | Where | Type | Program cost | Length | Completions | Miles |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Larry's Barber College | Chicago, IL | Certificate | $18,540 | 16 months | 33 | 4.2 |
| Tricoci University of Beauty Culture-Bridgeview | Bridgeview, IL | Certificate | $19,982 | 10 months | 10 | 4.7 |
| Larry's Barber College | Chicago, IL | Certificate | $18,540 | 16 months | 14 | 5.5 |
| Paul Mitchell the School-Chicago | Chicago, IL | Certificate | $22,575 | 12 months | 0 | 9.6 |
| South Suburban College | South Holland, IL | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 9 | 10.2 |
| Headrest Barber Business AcademyWIOA list | Chicago, IL | WIOA list only | Not reported | Not reported | 10.6 | |
| Networks Barber College | Calumet City, IL | Certificate | $19,300 | 13 months | 25 | 11.9 |
| Lil Lou's Beauty and Barber College-Hammond | Hammond, IN | Certificate | $17,700 | 13 months | 6 | 13.1 |
| City Colleges of Chicago-Harry S Truman College | Chicago, IL | Certificate | Not reported | Not reported | 13 | 16.0 |
| Paul Mitchell the School-Lombard | Lombard, IL | Certificate | $22,575 | 12 months | 0 | 16.8 |
| Phipps Academy of Barbering | Richton Park, IL | Certificate | $18,500 | 11 months | 65 | 17.4 |
| Tricoci University of Beauty Culture-Chicago NW | Chicago, IL | Certificate | $20,482 | 10 months | 23 | 17.4 |
| Don Roberts School of Hair Design | Schererville, IN | Certificate | $21,100 | 16 months | 0 | 22.1 |
| Lil Lou's Beauty and Barber College | Gary, IN | Certificate | $17,700 | 13 months | 5 | 24.1 |
| Pivot Point Academy | Bloomingdale, IL | Certificate | $21,000 | 11 months | 13 | 24.1 |
| Larry's Barber College-Joliet | Joliet, IL | Certificate | $18,540 | 13 months | 14 | 25.1 |
| Denmark College | Merrillville, IN | Certificate | $21,000 | 11 months | 67 | 26.0 |
| Cosmetology & Spa Academy | Crystal Lake, IL | Certificate | $23,000 | 11 months | 64 | 46.3 |
- College programs, cost and completions: IPEDS complete data files, 2024-25 collection, read October 8, 2026.
- WIOA list: DOL TrainingProviderResults.gov program file (ETA-9171), read October 8, 2026.
- Pay: BLS OEWS, May 2025, Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN, read October 8, 2026.
Paying for training
- WIOA in Illinois: 3,233 programs are on the state's list in the U.S. DOL file, 1 of them Barbering.
- Pell Grants for short programs
- Workforce Pell
- GI Bill